La casa que un día llamé hogar // The house once I called home (by Duane Michals, 2002)

Duane Michals - The house once I called home

Cuando era niño, no entendía que yo era un príncipe,
y que mi padre era el rey.
Aunque no vivíamos en un castillo,
y mi padre trabajaba en el molino,
Empecé a darme cuenta de que en el ámbito de mis sueños,
Yo era el delfín.
A través de la ventana de mi habitación podía ver
un espectáculo de torres y minaretes
flotar por encima de la sucia ciudad debajo como una bruma iridiscente.
Mi imaginación sería mi varita y cetro.
Y no habría límites a mi dominio.

(Felíz Día del Padre a todos!)

//

As a child, I did not understand that I was a prince,
and that my father was the king.
Although we did not live in a castle,
and my father worked in the mill,
I began to realize that in the realm of my dreams,
I was the dauphin.
Through my bedroom window I could see
a spectacle of turrets and minarets
float above the soiled city below like an iridiscent mist.
My imagination would be both my wand and scepter.
And there would be no boundaries to my domain.

(Happy Father’s Day to everyone!)

One thought on “La casa que un día llamé hogar // The house once I called home (by Duane Michals, 2002)

Deja un comentario // Leave a comment

