Días con mi padre // Days with my father (by Mr. Toledano)

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 1

“Mi madre murió repentinamente el 4 de septiembre 2006.
Después de su muerte, me di cuenta de lo mucho que me había estado protegiendo del estado mental de mi padre. No tenía Alzheimer, pero no tenía memoria a corto plazo, y se perdía a menudo.

Lo llevé al funeral, pero cuando llegamos a casa, me había estado preguntando cada 15 minutos dónde estaba mi madre. Tuve que explicar una y otra vez, que ella había muerto.

Esta fue una noticia impactante para él.
¿Por qué nadie se lo dijo?
¿Por qué no le había llevado al funeral?
¿Por qué no la había visitado en el hospital?

Él no tenía ningún recuerdo de estos eventos.

Después de un tiempo, me di cuenta que no podía seguir diciéndole que su esposa había muerto. Él no recordaba, y nos estaba matando a los dos, el revivir constantemente su muerte.

Decidí decirle que ella se había ido a París, para cuidar de su hermano, que estaba enfermo.

“Días con mi padre” es un diario.
Un registro de nuestra relación, y del tiempo que compartimos durante los últimos tres años.”

– Mr. Toledano

//

“My Mum died suddenly on September 4th, 2006.
After she died, I realized how much she’d been shielding me from my father’s mental state. He didn’t have alzheimers, but he had no short-term memory, and was often lost.

I took him to the funeral, but when we got home, he’d keep asking me every 15 minutes where my mother was. I had to explain over and over again, that she had died.

This was shocking news to him.
Why had no-one told him?
Why hadn’t I taken him to the funeral?
Why hadn’t he visited her in the hospital?

He had no memory of these events.

After a while, I realized I couldn’t keep telling him that his wife had died. He didn’t remember, and it was killing both of us, to constantly re-live her death.

I decided to tell him she’d gone to Paris, to take care of her brother, who was sick.

‘Days with my father’ is a journal.
A record of our relationship, and the time we spent over the last three years.”

– Mr. Toledano

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 2

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 3

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 4

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 5

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 6

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 7

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 8

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 9

Mr Toledano - Days with my father - 10

Deja un comentario // Leave a comment

