Una carta de mi padre // A letter from my father (by Duane Michals, 1975)

“En la medida que puedo recordar, mi padre siempre decía que algún día me escribiría una carta muy especial. Pero él nunca me dijo sobre qué sería esa carta. Yo solía tratar de adivinar lo que la carta contendría, qué íntimo secreto compartiríamos nosotros dos, qué misterio de la familia podría ser ahora revelado! Yo sabía lo que esperaba leer en la carta. Quería que me dijera dónde había escondido sus afectos. Pero entonces murió, y la carta nunca llegó. Y nunca encontré el lugar donde había escondido su amor.”

//

“As long as I can remember, my father always said that one day he would write me a very special letter. But he never told me what the letter would be about. I used to try to guess what the letter would contain, what intimate secret just the two of us would share, what family mystery could now be revealed! I knew what I hoped to read in the letter. I wanted him to tell me where he had hidden his affections. But then he died, and the letter never did arrive. And I never did find that place where he had hidden his love.”

Deja un comentario // Leave a comment

